top of page
  • Writer's pictureSindhuja

Inception: An Idea so simple yet so complex ★★★★★


Inception-Minimalist poster. Artwork by me


Recently, I had a Playlist that was a complete set of Motion Picture theme music all composed by the legendary Hans Zimmer playing on the speakers while at work, and that reminded me of one of my all-time favorite movies- Inception. So I ended up watching it for about the 10th time over the last weekend and not to my surprise- I was still blown away by that masterpiece of a movie!

And that is why I’m writing a ten-years-too-late movie review (not really… this is more of a fangirl gushing in complete awe), and made this minimalist poster as a tribute. Can you believe that it has been 10 freaking years already?

I think what’s most fascinating for me about the story is the idea, on the surface what seems so simple is also complex when you try and apply it while you establish the many layers beneath the surface of the idea, there will be logic and rules you create that you need to stick to (at this point it feels like math on dope) but this really is amazing how somebody can even perceive such a thing! Chris Nolan – the writer and Director is a master storyteller and I appreciate this as a writer and on an another level I connect with the movie as a trained Architect.

The ensemble cast is so harmonious. Whether it is the Guilt-ridden but pained lost Cobb or Ariadne- the curious, eager and intelligent graduate, Arthur being the perfect partner/producer, Eames with his sharp-tongue, Saito- the powerful man with the many layers, Fischer-the naïve/preoccupied businessman and troubled son and Mal- the bare essence of a femme fatale (and I could go on about all the other secondary characters but I’ll stop here) were all portrayed to perfection by the actors and I really saw them as the characters and not the actors- that’s when you know it works.

And I love how all the characters have their moments of glory and those were small scenes- but they stay in memory for a long time- Ariadne’s first trip into the dream world, and the outburst that follows, Arthur’s ‘it was worth a shot’ excuse for a kiss, Eames and his funny one-liners, and Fischer’s closure with his father in the dream. There’s details in every frame of the movie and I am awed by something new that I probably didn’t notice (as a storyteller) the previous times but those are the ones that add to the realness/ ease of perception of the story.

Finally, Chris Nolan, thank you for amazing work of art!

P.S.- This movie released in the year 2010, and I went back to google about the accolades- academy awards in particular it must have bagged and I was shocked to see that it had not won in any of the categories of Film/Director/Screenplay and only realized that year it was competing with two other great movies- King’s Speech and The Social Network, though I love the other two, this is one movie that holds a cult status in my head and might watch with full attention many times over.


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page