top of page
  • Writer's pictureSindhuja

The Flat Share ★★★★★

The Flat Share by Beth O’Leary ★★★★★

2019; Quercus Books



I got this book last month after more than a year of staying away from reading fiction. I had asked my girls for a fun light fluffy read and I don't know what they understood by that but boy, was I in for a surprise. It was not what I expected, but I loved it so much more.


The tone of the book is set when the main character- Tiffy and love interest- Leon start sharing a flat and communicating through written words but never having seen or spoken to each other until about halfway through the story. A girl like me loves that- wooing through letters has got an old-world charm, right? (NERRRRD!) A girl like me also loves the slow-burn, falling-in-love scenario that is a result of this. I'm not one for the reckless, spontaneous type of love.


But this book isn't just about romance, the characters become friends first before they turn into anything more. He is not her knight-in-shining-Armor. The story is as much about personal growth and self-love as it is about finding somebody to love. For me the most gripping part of the story is how Tiffy grows into the person she respects.


While she has friends who are supportive and know what is good for her, there are decisions and actions she has to figure out on her own particularly about her past personal life— this is something I could connect with so much, this made me cry, introspect and accept that I have to do it at my own pace without feeling ashamed for it. This part of the writing was like watching myself go through those motions but from a more rational perspective.


This tale made me laugh, cry and introspect and I loved every bit of it. It also comes HIGHLY recommended.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page