top of page
  • Writer's pictureSindhuja

A letter of not-apology, but what exactly?

This was a fun prompt, and this poem (if it reads like one) is a little more personal and truthful than others and I really did ask my sibling to remind of anything, even inconsequential, that I'd stolen from him, because I NEVER, ever steal stuff. (mama raised me right!)

Then he tried to recall and remembered this and got sorta offended. (Well, this was a one-off and it's good to have some vices but I wouldn't call it stealing)

It brings back nostalgia of childhood... Anyways here goes-



2006, dear brother

That year, I fell in love

with the beautiful game.

Not the spiritual kind, us, but

Awakening, during the World cup

I found my religion

But you got the white tunic, all fans did, right?

Wearing which made one feel

part of Die Manschaft, part of the eleven.

But me? And I envied you for it.

Capitalism didn’t care about teenage girl followers

At least not then, not here

Then you crossed borders into England,

But Deutschland, in my heart held

a special place, and thank you for that.

Though, we don’t belong to both.

What I don’t thank you for

is accusing me ‘You stole my jersey!’

Well, I didn’t steal it, not technically

First you switched sides, and you’d grow out of

and wouldn’t take it out of the closet

too scared to ruin the white, and being younger,

hand-me-downs were my thing

I did not appreciate, but got used to,

this was going to be mine anyways

So no, this isn’t an apology,

but what is this for, anyway?

Yes, your reminding me of that now

helped recall that shared passion

as kids, we have forgotten

in the process of becoming adults.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page