top of page
  • Writer's pictureSindhuja

Nothing and anything- A kerfuffle of everything

Mother of God! I can't believe I wrote all this and with little editing between the original draft and the published version, and I belive I could have continued forever, because I was in the Zone having read the resource reference poem and trying to work similarly, but I had to say staph! It was a good writing excercise, I loved it and would like to try it again where I might dissect it into several different poems. Here's my #day25 prompt inspired poem-

They say don't begin writing like this-

but 'here goes nothing'-

from the mother of doing the opposite

always the antithesis to what is

expected of, a social puzzle really.

Oh now I've gotten to talking about myself?

Isn't this what life is all about?

You're the hero, the world moves around you

Galileo and the other guy and the church

were all wrong.not a competition, because time is

better spent doing better things, making one feel alive. Right?

What makes you feel alive? What makes me feel alive is

writing. Writing to you,

writing about this, is this vague?

What am I addressing? Who are you?

Questions are befuddling idiots,

but the answers are convicts on the run

spirited for an eternal race, like a marathon,

is it fun? No and all my sentiments are

reserved for- for what?

Nothing, I know nothing and everything

I thought I knew and here I am falling

on my knees, dripping blood and mud

coagulating the pavement,

Oh my legs, bracing with both hands

I come up ashore, saying "I need help"

and my flow is interrupted, microcosmic in this

vastness

Who came to answer the call?

I can't say because I don't

know myself, having lost worldliness

in the panic of the moment, too anxious

too soon.

But I am feeling what I am feeling

how do you decide that?

Like it is as easy as saying

the east wall of the living has to

be a certain shade of righteousness

the length of my hair has to be

the exact shade of depression.

The weather sucks up my emotion

as does my lung the air of summer

without a care as to what for and when

and if this does not bother you

then you should go see a someone

and choose the next slot for there's a

line of guests trying their luck under this roof

What kind of monologue is

this life that seems to go on

for long and as winding as

the highway to nowhere and will

continue till when the poet decides I die?

Are you done? No, I'm only pausing.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page