top of page
  • Writer's pictureSindhuja

Powder blue French doors

On the corner

‘round my apartment

Stands her bakery with

the powder blue French doors

and the rusty old signage

That reads ‘Pandora’

She’s got a thing for antiquity

Opening every morning at 8AM

identified by the aroma of freshly baked bread

says it’s open for business.

The smell reaches my first floor window

I can’t take my coffee in peace

I think about her and my

appetite thinks about bagels

Surely she must be a witch

A most efficient one, at her craft

For even when she walks home

the scent of sweet vanilla

lingers in the air, enticing

But her smile is genuine

Ignorant of the effect on me

Every morning I walk by

thinking I’d go in, do small talk,

find the courage to ask her out, but I never.

I collide with someone as I’m thinking this.

I look up to the scent of sweet vanilla and

‘Hello, I’m sorry, didn’t see you there!’

in front of those Powder blue French doors.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page