top of page
  • Writer's pictureSindhuja

Sunflowers in December

"Let me sit in a flowerpot, The spiders won't notice. My heart is a stopped geranium."

- Sylvia Plath, Who from The colossus and other poems


I was drawn to these lines, and decided to use them in my poem for today's prompt. I read up about Sylvia and the particular poem, but the idea of how i wanted to interpret this had already germinated in my head, and probably the reading influenced how it grew into this complete poem below-



My charming disposition

holds allure

warm and bright

to light up your life

In the summer

let me sit in a flowerpot,

the spiders won't notice.

by the south facing window

Next to your favorite rubies

I feel safe here

where it’s nice and sunny

sunscreen and shades handy

Water me and feed me

I’ll be your sunflower

yellow and a warm hello

I’ll give you everything

Come winter,

the magic wears off

I have the blues

that is why I’ll lie

I’m a wildling

only follow the sun,

there’s no plan, save this

for I’m a summer girl

You look at me.

but hard-wired to,

I look at the sun

can’t sustain without

Do your best

in vain, till you hate me

don’t think it’s in you

bear my despondence

fickle minded

you think of those

those phonies, artificial

to replace me

Not me, ever the hippie

Clytie to her Helios

I’m loyal to my cause

let go, better for us

I fly with the wind, birds.

If you wait on me

I’ll be back next summer or another

depends, you love or desire



14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page