top of page
  • Writer's pictureSindhuja

Vermilion Red

Vermilion Red is the day2 poem inspired by Robert Frost's 'The road not taken'



The walls are being painted

Vermilion red

But father

I'm weary of it

His puzzled eyes-

Seemingly conveying

Such an amusing notion

Is there even another way to do it?

Well look,

Scrape through, you'll only find shades, layers of

Vermilion red

I beg to differ but this year,

Let's break tradition

I'll sand and scrape, two coats of primer

And finish bone white

But daughter

Dirt- there's the difficulty

Worry not, I

Will take the trouble,

For wanting

What my room is like when not

Vermilion red


It saddens me,

but my old man

We both stand up

For what we believe

Though love you, I shall

Here we must part ways

Wish me well as I leave in good spirits

For I shall meet you

where we can see eye to eye, And you know

It's more than those walls, more than just...

Vermilion red

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page